top of page

Cadburys A500 project

Hi all,

My latest project stemmed from my old L'Amiga A1200 project. What I wanted to do this time was see if I could do a better job this time than I did all those years ago.

Another thing I wanted to do was make sure the Amiga case was not cut or damaged in any way so it could be used as an Amiga case again in the future.

The A500 case I got was already empty, cracked and damaged, so first things first, repair the case, I used modelers cement and sanded back to shape :)

Once the case was back in one solid piece, it was time to prep it for paint

Next we move onto the keyboard which needed a good clean, and then a coat of etch primer, then a top coat of black, applied the A500 key decals and finally a coat of clear coat to seal them

The A500 keyboard with decals applied and sealed with clear coat.

I used an old i5 laptop motherboard with a 512Gb SSD (overkill maybe :D )

I extended the on/off power switch from the motherboard out to a microswitch on the side of the case (in the expansion slot cover)

The case was donated by my friend Michael McLoughlin and all of the Arduino work was done by another friend Andy Mason. The Arduino's are used to control the A500 keyboard and to use the A500 floppy drive with Geaseweasel, keeping the original floppy drive also helps with keeping the machine looking like an A500

We are getting there :). The rest of this project was very straight forward, the motherboard ports were extended to the rear of the case, I used a black mesh to hold the ports and to allow for extra ventilation for the i5.

The reason this project was called Cadbury is due to the let's say "bold" colour choice :D

Lovely huh?

here it is with the keyboard in place, and some shots showing internal fitment etc

Finishing touches. I wanted the mouse to look like an Amiga mouse, how to do that? simple, re-house an optical USB muse into a tank mouse :)

Another little mod just complete the project was to take an old A520 modulator and fit a four post USB inside ;)

as always the very last thing to do is to set up Windows to boot directly into OS3.9 via WinUAE and that's it all done.

see you all soon for my next project (and yes I know what it is :D )

Hot Items
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • RSS Long Shadow
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
bottom of page