top of page

Les Railton's (Phipscube) Super A1200 Part 11

We are fast heading towards the end of Les' a1200 build, so let's crack on

Small tweaks update. Just some things i've been doing over the last few months. I've re-routed the power lines under the board. No need for the top mounted wires as i've finished the tests I needed to perform with them connected and disconnected.

I added a connector to the CF adapter. This just makes things a bit easier when working in the machine.

I hard soldered the Mouse port to the board. This gives more room for the VGA cables to go under the floppy without getting too squashed.

I removed the connector on my Lyra! OOPS! :O

But put a new connector on top, much neater. And easier when having to dismantle

Here it is connected up.

My new peripheral power cable! floppy, fans, VGA switcher and 2x +5V for Subway and Delfina.

A little bit neater inside now the big power cable is out. Also more room for the BV fans.

Much needed fan grill, looks nice now

I changed my Auto VGA switch to include a manual AGA feature. I've discovered that some programs don't auto switch to AGA from RTG as the RTG screen gets left open! so for them few programs (mainly Mega Demos) I can manually flick over to AGA. All I did was basically add an on off on toggle and lead +5V for AGA. Red is signal (when open in middle position its grounded onboard so stays RTG), black is +5v (for AGA) and yellow is to the parallel port pin 13 for auto control.

Slimmed down my PWM controller.

And placed it on my keyboard! Why? well under the floppy was awkward to access, and it seemed to interfere a little with the VGA output (the 555 timer was directly under the cables) so the screen would shimmer sometimes.

I put a hole in the trapdoor. The fan on the PPC chip was sometimes scraping on it and making a nasty noise!

Nice bit of room for the fan now

So that's it for now. Most of these ongoing tweaks only come about through using the machine and every time I finish one I expect im done, but something else seems to pop into my head as a good idea.

there we go, part 11 done and part 12 to follow soon :)


Hot Items
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • RSS Long Shadow
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
bottom of page