top of page

Les Railton's (Phipscube) Super A1200 Part 12

The final installment of this uber A1200 build until Les pulls his finger out and does some more tweeks :D

Some updates to my Amiga I added a few other minor tweaks to help with general stability. Here i've added direct +5V power to the IDEFix Express. This helps with some random cold boot issues i've had and also the odd reboot crash: -

I've added a ferrite Core around the Indi cable to eliminate a little bit of noise I had on the screen: -

I've managed to get my Flash Kicks working and dual booting between 3.1 and 3.9 Here are the Epsilon FlashKicks I got from Poland (cheers for the help Stachu100): -

I replaced my aging (And worn out) Kickstart Sockets and added some handy labels: -

Programming them up in my cheap as chips Willem

The settings needed to program these: -

Added a switch to the side of my Amiga to allow dual kick (0v and 5v to select the different banks): -

And a label

Here is the switch wire needed on pin 1 of each Flash Kick to switch the banks: -

The switch selects 3.9 with HDD powered or 3.1 with HDD turned off (so my A1200 can go into vanilla mode) If I hold key "2" on bootup I can disable my PPC also. This is so I can play Floppy games or Demos that only like 020 2MB chip.

The new HDD power cable controlled by the switch: -

Plugged straight onto the HDD IDE cable: -

Here it is switched into 3.1

And 3.9 (I unplugged the HDD cable to show the kick screen)

And that's all folks, I hope you have enjoyed Les' work, let's all give him a round of applause for the amazing effort he has put into this build. Les, well done mate!!


Hot Items
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • RSS Long Shadow
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
bottom of page